Posted by: Shellca | 1 February 1938

1938 February

Wednesday, 2 February 1938

Debit

2d. Modern Wonder

Credit

~

Stamp Club every Wednesday.

Hicks gave a lecture. Swops.

Thursday, 3 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Aunt Elsie here.

Friday, 4 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

night – school.

Saturday, 5 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

At Richardsons’ got a Cayman Island Jubilee

Sunday, 6 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Aeroplane landed purposely in field between Rolands’ & Clark’ Field near.

Uncle Sidney & Aunt Mable came in afternoon.

Monday, 7 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Arith night school.

Wednesday, 9 February 1938

Debit

2d. Modern Wonder

4½ Stamps from Jane.

Credit

~

Stamp club.

Thursday, 10 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Uncle Harry in evening.
Valued my Australian Stamps with this years Whitfield King Cat., – £1/4/2.

Friday, 11 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Turned out after school for Season practice match. I don’t know whether I was chosen for our house team.

night school.

Borrowed 2/- of of Mr. Furley to pay for Arith., night school – exam.

Saturday, 12 February 1938

Debit

9d Bought Jane birthday presents.

Credit

1/0

Saw Aunt Edith [mary]? in Aylesbury

Monday, 14 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Snow.

It snowed yesterday today, the whitest snow
I ever saw.  And white the low
of distant cattle dies away;
as on this cold, cold, snow they lay
Themselves, to slumber through the night,
The moon comes out, & with its brilliant light,
The snowflakes sparkles like some silvery jewels.

(It did snow today). night school. Paid Mr. Furley back 2/-.

Tuesday, 15 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

I am in our Senior House team. Left wing.

Wednesday, 16 February 1938

Debit

2d. Modern Wonder

6d. Stamp club subscription.

7d. Stamps.

Credit

~

No house match – rain.

Went through my duplicates & found 3 stamps with inverted watermarks.

Thursday, 17 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Homework

Oh, where are my pencil, & my books?
I cannot see them for all the looks
I cast about the room.
Ah, at last, there is my satchel.
(I’ve to write an essay to match all,
How Thisbe went to Ninny’s tomb).

I’ve to learn the Past Historic tense,
Then endings, and hence,
To write out all the regular verbs.
For Botany, that study of all herbs
and plants, there is a page
Blank, where I shall draw the Sage.

Friday, 18 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

our match – cancelled

Hurt my knee a bit in the Gym. (no fuss.).

night school

Saturday, 19 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

6d.

Aylesbury in afternoon.

Sunday, 20 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

1d.

Church

Monday, 21 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Half term holiday.

night school.

Tuesday, 22 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

We played the match this evening.

Ridleys’ won 5 – 1
I scored our goal.

Wednesday, 23 February 1938

Debit

2d. Modern Wonder

Credit

~

Stamp club.

Thursday, 24 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

Aunt Edie.

Friday, 25 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

French night school.

Saturday, 26 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

6d.

Went to Aylesbury in morning & afternoon.

Monday, 28 February 1938

Debit

~

Credit

~

No night school for me.

Densons (1) v Phillips (2)
(I got our one goal.).

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.